The Takeover 2018

The Takeover 2018

Each year The Customs House is taken over by emerging artists and arts professionals aged up to 25 years of age for a week of theatre, cinema, music, dance, poetry, hip hop and visual art.

This year The Takeover is possible thanks to the generous support of The Scottish Power Foundation, W A Hanley Fund, The Barbour Trust, and The Community Foundation, Tyne and Wear and Northumberland.

The Takeover runs throughout the May half-term with an exciting line-up of events, competitions, films and performances, for young people aged 25 and under. Our wonderful Takeover Team have been working hard to pull together this year’s Takeover programme and we are thrilled to be able to share what will be happening during the Takeover 2018…

Booking now open, strictly first come, first served.

MON 28 MAY

Mini Makers https://www.customshouse.co.uk/takepart/mini-maker-monday/

Mega Makers https://www.customshouse.co.uk/takepart/mega-makers/

Cheddar Gorgeous https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/cheddar-gorgeous-drag-makeup-masterclass/

Mas (body paint + airbrush art) https://www.facebook.com/events/195535954408143/

Cosplay Ball https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/cosplay-ball/

Takeover Open Exhibition Preview https://www.facebook.com/events/782112255311117/

TUES 29 MAY

Graffiti Workshop with Mark Shields https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/graffiti-workshop/

Mean Teens Breakdance Jam https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/mean-teens-breakdancing-jam/

WED 30 MAY

Kay Greyson https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/kay-greyson-and-support/

Terry Kelly Poetry Prize https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/terry-kelly-poetry-prize/145004/

THURS 31 MAY

Filmmaking with Act 2 Cam https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/act-2-cam-workshop/

NEYFA https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/north-east-young-filmmaker-awards/

FRI 1 JUNE

Improv workshop with Blowin’ A Hooley https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/improvisation-workshop/

StereoTYPED, performed by The Customs House Youth Theatre (Jnrs) https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/stereotyped/

WORMTOWN, written by Reece Connolly https://www.customshouse.co.uk/theatre/wormtown/

This work is possible due to the generous support of our funders; South Tyneside Council, Arts Council England, W A Hanley Trust and Scottish Power Foundation